Faculty Directory

Handpicked for their pioneering spirit, creativity and collaborative approach, twenty-four world leaders in immunology head independent laboratories that work on understanding different aspects of the immune system using the latest biomedical research tools and technologies. They regularly come together to share their expertise while pursuing novel approaches to shedding light on the role of the immune system in nearly every disease, from viral infections to autoimmune diseases to cancer. Together, they are working toward a new era in human health, where life without disease is within reach.

Select a scientist from the list below to view more about their work at La Jolla Institute.


Amnon Altman, Ph.D.
Ferhat Ay, Ph.D.
Chris Benedict, Ph.D.
Hilde Cheroutre, Ph.D.
Michael Croft, Ph.D.
Shane Crotty, Ph.D.
Catherine “Lynn” Hedrick, Ph.D.
Patrick Hogan, Ph.D.
Toshiaki Kawakami, M.D., Ph.D.
Mitchell Kronenberg, Ph.D.
Klaus Ley, M.D.
Joel Linden, Ph.D.
Yun-Cai Liu, Ph.D.
Don Newmeyer, Ph.D.
Bjoern Peters, Ph.D.
Anjana Rao, Ph.D.
Erica Ollmann Saphire, Ph.D.
Stephen Schoenberger, Ph.D.
Alessandro Sette, Dr. Biol.Sci.
Sonia Sharma, Ph.D.
Sujan Shresta, Ph.D.
Pandurangan Vijayanand, M.D. Ph.D.
Matthias von Herrath, M.D.
Dirk Zajonc, Ph.D.

Adjunct & Visiting Professors

LJI Scholars

LJI scholars are world-renowned scientists who spend time at the institute each year to exchange ideas, foster innovation and spark new discoveries through intellectual collusions. Nominated by the president, they serve for renewable two-year terms.

Clinical Associates

The Clinical Associates Program bridges the gulf between bench and bedside by embedding clinicians into LJI labs to facilitate collaborations between physicians and LJI scientists to speed up the development of new treatments.