AAAS and La Jolla Institute for Immunology announce 2019 Fellows

Washington, D.C. — Professors Shane Crotty, Ph.D., and Alessandro Sette, Dr. Biol.Sci., of La Jolla Institute for Immunology have been named as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as an AAAS Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

This year 443 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance any field of science or its applications. New Fellows will be announced during the 2020 AAAS Annual Meeting in Seattle, Washington, in February 2020.

Dr. Shane Crotty and Dr. Alessandro Sette

Dr. Crotty was elected an AAAS fellow in recognition of his distinguished contributions to the field of vaccine immunology, particularly defining and characterizing T follicular helper (Tfh) cells and their roles in humoral immunity.

Dr. Sette was recognized for his distinguished contributions to the field of immunology, particularly for providing insights into T-cell specificity and immune-profiling of T-cells in human disease, and for pioneering immuno-informatics.

The election of Drs. Crotty and Sette brings the total number of AAAS fellows at LJI to five. Their fellow AAAS fellows are LJI President and Chief Scientific Officer Mitchell Kronenberg, Ph.D., and LJI Professors Anjana Rao and Erica Ollmann Saphire, Ph.D.

The tradition of electing AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow by several means including if they are nominated by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members. The AAAS Fellow honor comes with an expectation that recipients maintain the highest standards of professional ethics and scientific integrity.

About La Jolla Institute for Immunology
The La Jolla Institute for Immunology is dedicated to understanding the intricacies and power of the immune system so that we may apply that knowledge to promote human health and prevent a wide range of diseases. Since its founding in 1988 as an independent, nonprofit research organization, the Institute has made numerous advances leading toward its goal: life without disease.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science, as well as Science Translational Medicine; Science Signaling; a digital, open-access journal, Science Advances; Science Immunology; and Science Robotics. AAAS was founded in 1848 and includes more than 250 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world. The nonprofit AAAS is open to all and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, public engagement, and more. For additional information about AAAS, see