Robert C. (Bob) Dynes, Ph.D.

Dr. Dynes, a distinguished physicist, was the 18th president of the University of California system-serving for five years from 2003 to 2008 and subsequently named UC president emeritus. Prior to assuming the UC president role, Dr. Dynes served as the sixth chancellor of UC San Diego from 1996 to 2003. He came to UC San Diego in 1990 after a 22-year career at AT&T Bell Laboratories, where he was department head of semiconductor and material physics research and director of chemical physics research. Dr. Dynes recently rejoined the UC San Diego faculty as a professor in the Department of Physics.

Over the years, Dr. Dynes has received numerous scientific awards. In 1989, he was elected to the National Academy of Sciences; in 1990, he received the Fritz London Award in Low Temperature Physics; and in 1994 he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Since leaving the UC presidency in June 2008, Dr. Dynes joined the boards of the San Diego Foundation, the Argonne National Laboratory, the Canadian Foundation for Innovation review panel, and the Helmholtz Foundation in Germany. He recently chaired a National Academy of Sciences Study Committee on Advanced Radiation Detection for the Department of Homeland Security.

Dr. Dynes has also served on the executive committee of the U.S. Council on Competitiveness, the California Commission for Jobs and Economic Growth and is a Fellow of the California Council on Science and Technology.